Skip to content

Day 15 & 16 – The Office Makeover

December 31, 2012

Well folks, it is done.  The most stressful room in our house – is FINISHED!  This room was the product of a DIY wedding planner bride, very generous friends and family and a general desire to hide (that’s me) from cleaning it.

So next on the LIST is to clean, declutter and organize the office.  Once we dove in I have to say – it wasn’t so bad.

The scary before pictures so you can see how far we have come.

1_Office_Before_1

What we did:

  • Unpacked, Cleaned out and Flattened at least 35 cardboard boxes
  • Sorted, Organized then Shredded nearly 10 bags of junk mail and other “not needed” papers
  • Categorized, Organized and Labeled all our family keepsakes, photos and cards
  • Two trips to Goodwill to donate old items
  • One trip to the local recycle center to drop off all that cardboard, plastic and paper
  • Made our very own Family Travel Map (post forthcoming)
  • Organized both the closet shelving unit as well as the desk drawers

Here is the final product!

3_The_Desk

Once I got through all the paper clutter, I realized that I have issues in three key areas: Paper to Shred, Paper Receipts and our active To-Do List.  To manage this, we decided that they each needed their very own spot on the desk to help organize as we go.  Here is the solution:

Newly organized file folders for the items we are actively working on.

3_To-Do_Folder

A box for all the receipts we need to keep for tax time.

Reeipts Box

A tray for all that junk mail that needs to be shredded.

Shred Me Tray

I even got rid of my old school work from 10 years ago!

My Old Schoolwork

One more look at that pretty desk.  Hope you like it!

3_The_Desk2

Now we can mark a few more items off the List (YAY!):

OFFICE

  • Declutter and clean – DONE!
  • New stand for printer and Silhouette – Good enough for now
  • Shelve unit for piano and storage
  • Clean and organize items in closet shelves – DONE!
  • Reorganize File Cabinet
  • Desk organization – DONE!
  • Throw away old school stuff – DONE!
  • Wall organization – DONE!
  • Label boxes in closet – DONE!
  • Wedding Photos Framed
  • Update bookcase – Work in Progress
  • Organize and consolidate Important Papers
  • Add accent behind desk – DONE!
  • Travel Map – DONE

How are your New Year’s Resolutions coming along?

~TheRookieHousewife

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2012 6:55 pm

    Whoo-hoo! You’ve made a huge difference! I love how organizing adds time to your day.

    • December 31, 2012 7:13 pm

      Thank you Daisy! Finding my “paper clutter” problem areas really helped inspire the paper collection zones…

  2. January 1, 2013 2:46 pm

    OMG that looks amazing! I’m taking notes (I have a brand new home office!)

    • January 1, 2013 9:10 pm

      Hi Kasondra! I am so glad you like it.. makes such a difference to have a clean room again – I can call this room an office again and not the dreaded “clutter room” anymore. 🙂

  3. January 1, 2013 7:52 pm

    Love the pop of lime green and your use of the cork squares

    • January 1, 2013 9:08 pm

      Thank you Vicki! I found those folders in the clearance bin for only a $1 each… I thought they added a little color to the black and white.

  4. January 2, 2013 12:09 pm

    Doesn’t it feel better when you can mark something huge off your list? I love what you did with your space.

    • January 2, 2013 8:05 pm

      Thank you Madsquirrel! And you are totally right… Some times I just write down what I did that day so I can cross it off and feel accomplished 😉

  5. January 3, 2013 8:18 pm

    Very cute and I love that you added a checklist.

  6. January 3, 2013 8:38 pm

    This really looks great…I love how pretty all the accessories are! You also got a very impressive amount of stuff done…amazing. I hope you post pics of the whole room when you’re done. 🙂

    • January 3, 2013 8:52 pm

      Thank you! I should have taken a picture of all the stuff we hauled out of there! 🙂 more pictures on the way…

  7. January 4, 2013 8:54 am

    I love the desk! What a lot of work that must have taken, it looks amazing. And I really love your receipt box, it’s so pretty.

    • January 4, 2013 4:57 pm

      Thank you! If only I had taken pictures of the countless countertops and tables that had crumpled receipts all over them before the box 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Day 17 – Our Family Travel Map « the rookie housewife

Leave a Reply

