Skip to content

Day 5, 6 & 7 – The Laundry Room Makeover

December 22, 2012
The Cabinet - After

Well, it is time.  I have mentioned in my first post about a List, the List that is going to whip this house (and me!) in shape.  I am determined to “unclutter” and “clean” my house and while I am at it, my life will “unclutter” and “clean” as well.  So, the List started on Tuesday, with the Laundry Room.

This is where I start with the VERY unflattering BEFORE picture.  Yep, ladies and gentlemen, probably one of the reasons that I hate to do laundry, is that my Laundry Room looks like this!

The Laundry Room - Before

So, a few trips to the dollar store, Lowes and a couple unique items off Amazon and VOILA!  Here is what we did.

Step 1: Take EVERYTHING out of the room.  Now, the hot water heater, washer and dryer can’t really be removed, however, I did move each of these into the middle of the room.  This is important so we can get to all the baseboards and wall that never sees the light of day!

Step 2: CLEAN.  Clean the walls, the floor, behind the appliances and all of the shelves.  This is a true spring clean, and if we are going to get anywhere with that bucket of paint I bought, it needs to at least start off clean!  My knees will ever be the same, but at least we have clean baseboards!

Step 3: Tape and Paint.  I have always hated the very dull colors that are all over the house.  I only managed to paint about 3 rooms and I swear, this room hasn’t seen a paint brush in probably 20 years or more.  So, a fresh coat of paint is in order.  Dear Hubby requested a room with a little blue and I decided to accent with a bright white and green on the cabinets and shelf. I have to share this little gem, being that I am new to painting and “how to” do this efficiently, these guys at Family Handyman had all the tips a newbie like me needed…

Step 4: The Shelves.  We had two elevated cabinets which over the past 7 years have amassed a TON of stuff.  From light bulbs to spot remover, cleaning rags to detergent.  They all validly belong in the Laundry Room, but none ever seemed to have a place.  We decided to add another shelf, one out in the open and above the washer and dryer for all those items that are used more frequently.  I was able to find about 12 inches behind the washer and dryer and 12 inches clearance to the cabinets that was the perfect spot for a white wire rack shelf.  Couple of cute boxes to hold all the essentials like dryer sheets, spot remover, and clips and we are organized!

Step 5: The Cabinet.  With a little spring cleaning and we managed to find a TON of room in the cabinets above the washer.  I took off the doors and added a few storage boxes I had from IKEA to organize everything we might need.  We now have a central place for all those lightbulbs, the batteries, extra detergent and bleach and rags and cleaners.  I stole this idea from a few fabulous ladies, and made these really cute chalkboard tags for each box so we know what we have.

The Cabinet - BeforeThe Cabinet - After

Step 6: Ugly Breaker Box.  If you look in that first photo, you will see a very yucky eye sore, the breaker box.  It serves a wonderful purpose, don’t get me wrong, but it had no place in my newly refinished room.  So, back to the internet and I found an idea for a Laundry Room Caddy.  What a cute idea – so, once again, I am going to use it!  I will post a How-To-Tutorial to make your very own Breaker Box Caddy once I finish it.

Step 7: Functionality.  The Laundry Room is also the home to all our cleaning supplies and boy did we need more room.  I found this gem on Amazon that allows you to hang dry your delicates and then collapses to the wall when not in use, it’s called the Arrow Hanger Instahanger Clothes Hanging System.  We also upscaled the rack we hold the broom, mop and ironing board so that everything has a place!

Here is the big reveal!

The Laundry Room - After

So, now we can mark it off the List:

LAUNDRY ROOM
Open up shelves and clean
Mount Drying rack on back wall
PAINT
Add new shelf
Fix hanging hooks

Leave me a comment if you like the end result!

~TheRookieHousewife

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2012 8:47 am

    I love the colours you chose! What an improvement! It looks like your efforts paid off! Now doing laundry will be less of a chore! ~ Thea

Trackbacks

  1. Day 8 – What I Learned Painting « the rookie housewife

Leave a Reply

