Skip to content

Day 3 – Chocolate Pretzel Christmas Buttons

December 18, 2012
The Final Product

So, I have mentioned this before in our About Me page, but dear Hubby and I both work outside of the home and oddly enough, for the same company and in the same department (even though technically, we don’t actually “work” together).  We do however, interact with many of the same friends and co-workers on a daily basis.  What this means is that around this time of year, I am always on the lookout for Christmas gifts to give our co-workers that are simple, unique and won’t break the bank as we have a list of nearly 50+ folks that will be getting them this year!  This is our first year as an official married couple, so I wanted to start out right.

I stumbled upon the following idea and absolutely fell in love with how simple the concept was!  Off to the grocery store and after 4 hours, we had a special handmade snack ready for delivery the very next morning.  Chocolate Pretzel Christmas Buttons.  Yep, you heard me, chocolate and pretzels, you can’t possibly go wrong here.

Here is what you need…  Multiple each of these x10 for every person on your list (co-workers, neighbors, teachers… you get the drill) as I found a little pack of 10 is a sweet snack size.

  • Square or round pretzels
  • Hershey’s Kisses
  • M&Ms (preferably the green and red Christmas ones!)
  • Cellophane treat bags (I used 3″x10″)
    and little bit of time and patience

Chocolate Pretzel Supplies

Now, while on my mission online, I found several folks who used this recipe with the Peppermint White Chocolate Hershey’s Kisses, which is a lovely twist, however, I wasn’t really in the mood to drive all over town looking for them.  So, I settled for good old fashioned milk chocolate, but feel free to be creative with your flavors!

The Process

Step 1: Defoil those Kisses – The first step is, well, the most tedious!  I enlisted Hubby’s help here and bless his heart… he defoiled nearly 500+ kisses for me tonight!  The question has been raised as to whether I could have bought kisses without the foil – good point, maybe I will look for those next time :)…

Defoil Kisses

Step 2: Line up your Pretzels and Top with a Kiss – Once I had Hubby off and running with the kisses, I set forth to spread a layer of pretzels on a cookie sheet.  I made sure I picked the “whole” pretzels from the bag.  As he finished bowl after bowl, I place a single kiss on top of each pretzel.

Line Kisses on Prezels

Step 3: Melt that Chocolate – Pre-heat your oven to approximately 175-180 degrees F and “cook” for no more than 3-5 minutes.  I found that you start to see the kisses “shimmer” once they are nearly ready.  Be sure to test one before you pull the cookie sheet out of the oven, the chocolate should be melted all the way through.

Step 4: Press an M&M’s candy into the center of each Kiss – Make sure you do this as soon as you remove the sheet from the oven.  The kisses do not cool very quickly, but I was able to M&M each kiss in the 5 minutes I waited for the next batch to melt!  I was also, obsessively determined to alternate red, then green, then red, then green to ensure I have an equal number of each color for the bags.  What I learned… apparently… there are significantly more green than red M&Ms in the holiday mix. Ha.

Smoosh M&Ms on Chocolate Kiss

Step 5: Cool – Now that you have smooshed your candies on each kiss and pretzel, I found the fastest way to bagging was to let them cool in the freezer for about 5-10 minutes so they are nice and set.

Step 6: Bag, Decorate and Label!  We decided to go with the simple look, just some curl ribbon in green and red, but, had I more time, this would have been a perfect project to pull out my Silhouette and cut gift tags for each.

Bag and Decorate

I think they turned out quite lovely (and yummy! since you know I “tasted” a few of the misfits along the way…)  What do you think? What gifts ideas do you have for your co-workers, neighbors and teachers this year?

~TheRookieHousewife

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

