Skip to content

Day 1 – Why The Rookie Housewife

December 15, 2012

Good Morning Internet –

I suppose this is a debut – I am not sure if anyone will ever see this blog, but I wanted to put my words out there as to why I have decided to start The Rookie Housewife. I suppose I should start by saying that I am not a Stay at Home Mom. In fact, I am not technically a Mom yet – unless you count our two four-legged children and to be frank, they are pretty spoiled (Bailey is 9 years old and Asa is 6 years old).

Many of my friends are long married, kids (some have three little ones running around already!) and have settled into what it means to be a wife, a mother and general keeper of the home. I am a little slow in that development arena :)…

Hence this blog. What I found is that out of the hundreds of housewife blogs out there, none seemed to focus on those of us not drilled in the art of couponing, or how to keep a home and cook for two instead of five, and general time and household management skills when both you and your spouse travel for work. That is going to be my focus.

How to be a “9-5 working, traveling, obsessively detailed oriented, but just doesn’t seem to find enough time in the day to cook a proper meal” Housewife

Here is the fun part. For the next 8 weeks, I get to be a true Stay at Home Wife. We are going to call it Project Rookie Housewife and I have a List. A list that is going to snap this house in shape, a list that I will share with you everyday as I walk through tips and tricks for laundry, cooking, home decor and crafts. Today is Day 1, today’s task is to figure out how to wash, dry, fold and most importantly PUT AWAY all that laundry that seems to pile up each week!

Maybe by the end of this training camp, I can claim some sort of Housewife status. In the meantime, I hope you will join me on this journey and if you are interested, leave a comment!

~TheRookieHousewife

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

